LIKE MY SALT, THE HALAL FOOD MAY NOT BE REAL


salt billbord

Image by Las Vegas Decker via Flickr

 

 

I bought salt.  No, not the stuff you put on your food but “Salt” the movie starring Angela Jolie.
I paid Ksh 300/= in a shop at Diamond Plaza or if greenback is the only money you understand that’s almost US $4.

Actually, I could have paid less, maybe $1.50, but I decided to pamper myself by going for luxury.
My DVD comes in a nice flat box with a cover describing the specs about “Salt”, just like the real one.
Yes, just like the real one, because my “Salt” is bootleg.  It’s cheap and provides the same pleasure as the original.  

That’s not fair though.  Because of bootlegs it is difficult for Kenyan artist to make a decent living from their art.  Some are very talented like Mercy Mira, Nazizi, Eric Wainaina but illegal copies of their music is all over the place.

Lots of bootlegged items are available in Nairobi.  I know someone who bought at least 3 bottles of fake J&B whisky manufactured in China.  I saw the bottles, they looked original and, according to my friend, the taste was almost the same.  I don’t know much about whisky but I assume he got the same high.
He even fooled a J&B lover and up to now the chap has no idea that the only real thing in his glass was the ice cubes.

I took a friend who is in the fashion business in France.  He was amazed on how cheap branded goods were at a Village Market store, they sale counterfeit handbags at $200 while in Europe the same real handbags go for $2500.
Europeans are crazy; they could buy a round trip plane ticket to Nairobi, go shopping for “real” things and still have change left.

The vegetables are real in Kenya, real good indeed and better that in the good old USA and Europe. I know so because I am a food lover.
I only worry about the goats, they look real on the inside but I am not so sure about the inside.  I never saw goat grazing in fields; they gobble up everything on the road sides and even the black plastic bags.  That’s why I don’t eat goat.

I question the halal food too. I saw a documentary on the proper way to prepare halal chicken.  The butcher must face Mecca, then praise God almighty’s name, hold the live chicken by its feet, cut at the neck the right chicken’s vein and let it bleed.
It must be hard to work in a Halal chicken factory.  I cannot befriend a chicken by talking to him then kill him.
Anyway, are Muslims during Ramadan really buying halal chicken?
Or any halal meat for that matter!
What proof there is beside the halal word on top of butchery?
I could be wrong but I feel that lots of haaram is going on the halal food business.

Yes, maybe I made a deal with my fake “Salt”.
Is that Ok or worth in the long run?”
Well, I don’t think so. My salt is probably the tip of the iceberg.

Patrick-Bernard

Leave a Reply

